The Pragmatic Family of Frameworks


◄◄◄ Previous Page         


          Next Page ►►►

EMMA is an ontology used to categorise information and methods relating to maturing something and consists of four fundamental parts:



Measure how mature we are and if we should investigate increasing our maturity.


Determine how to change, and to secure the mandate and budget required to do so.


Make the changes identified to increase our maturity


A model which provides the Motivation, Actions, Guidance, Measures and Assessment to allow an increase in maturity.


The Evaluate, Analyse and Maturity parts are related to the structure of the domain in question, and therefore, each of those parts are further categorised using MACE. For example, when we refer to Evaluate, we are referring to evaluating the Methods, Artefacts, Culture and Environment of the domain in question.

The Modify part is related to transformation/changing the domain in question and therefore is further categorised in terms of MAGMA. I.E The Motivation, Actions Guidance, Metrics and Assessment to change the domain in question. These subparts are further categorised using MACE, because the Motivation (for example) is defined in terms of the Motivation to Change the Methods, the Motivation to change the Artefacts, the Motivation to change the Culture, and the Motivation to change the Environment, etc.

Questions to ponder...

What high level ontology do you use for describing and evaluating frameworks?

Does it cover everything EMMA does?

If not, does that cause any problems?

Do the frameworks you use define phases for adoption?

Do the frameworks you use define a maturity model for their adoption?

If not, how do you know how, when and what parts of a framework to adopt?

◄◄◄ Previous Page          

          Next Page ►►►


© 2008-2019 Pragmatic EA Ltd